• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions. Connect your Gmail, DriveDropbox, and Slack accounts and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio will automatically organize all your file attachments. Learn more and claim your free account.

View
 

Oberlin College Campus Profile

Page history last edited by Brandi McVety 1 year, 5 months ago

 

Oberlin College

101 N. Professor St.

Oberlin, OH 44074 

www.oberlin.edu

 

 

 CAMPUS AT A GLANCE & KEY FACTS


Oberlin is a four-year, highly selective liberal arts college and conservatory of music. Founded in 1833 by a Presbyterian minister and a missionary, it was the first college to grant bachelor's degrees to women in a coeducational environment and, historically, was a leader in the education of African Americans. The Oberlin community is known for its exemplary academic and musical pedagogy and its commitment to social justice, sustainability, and creative entrepreneurship. 

 

Fast Facts

  • Located in Oberlin, OH (35 miles southwest of Cleveland)

  • 2,900 students enrolled (9% in-state, 84% out-of-state, 7% from abroad)

  • Oldest continuously operating conservatory in the United States

  • 75% of students have some type of international or service experience while at Oberlin

 

 

BONNER PROGRAM AT A GLANCE


 

Type of Program: Bonner Scholars Program

Year Began: 1992

Bonner Program Website: http://new.oberlin.edu/office/bonner-center/programs/bonner-scholars-program/

Application Deadline for 2019: The review of applications for regular decision students will begin on May 5. Applications will be considered after this date if spaces are still available.

Where is the Bonner Program located: Bonner Center for Service and Learning 

Number of Bonner Students: 60

Highlighted Bonner Specific Programs:

  • Introduction to Bonner Life – First Year Bonner Scholars enroll in a one-credit course that meets weekly during the fall semester. The course serves as an orientation to Oberlin College, the Lorain County community, and the Bonner Scholars Program. It is designed to give students an opportunity to explore issues relevant to new students in a college environment while learning more about the Bonner common commitments. After completing the course, students have a better understanding of the Bonner Scholars program, Oberlin College, and issues important to the Lorain County community. They also become more familiar with a variety of service opportunities and clarify their service and learning objectives.   

 

CAMPUS-WIDE ENGAGEMENT AT A GLANCE


  • The Bonner Center for Service and Learning has an online platform (serve.oberlin.edu) connecting students with community partners. The site helps students identify service, community-based learning, and paid opportunities and needs by interest area and agency. Over 50 community partners are registered on the site. 

 

 

KEY CONTACTS


President: Carmen Twillie Ambar

 

Bonner Program Staff: 

Trecia Pottinger

Director, Bonner Center for Service and Learning

Director, Bonner Scholars Program

trecia.pottinger@oberlin.edu

(440) 775-8055

 

          Brandi McVety

          Coordinator, Bonner Scholars Program

          brandi.mcvety@oberlin.edu

          (440) 775-5389

 

Other Center Staff: 

          Tania Boster

          Director, Bonner Center Curricular Initiatives

          Associate Director, Bonner Center for Service and Learning

         tboster@oberlin.edu

         (440) 775-5390

 

          Susan Pavlus

          Director, Education Outreach Programs

          Assistant Director, Bonner Center for Service and Learning

          spavlus@oberlin.edu 

          (440) 775-5386

 

          Maureen Simen

          Coordinator, America Reads

          msimen@oberlin.edu

          (440) 775-8055

 

         Brittany Gordon

          Coordinator, College Access

          bgordon@oberlin.edu

          (440) 775-8055

 

          Della Kurzer-Zlotnick

          Civic Engagement Intern

          Della.R.Kurzer-Zlotnick@oberlin.edu

          (440) 775-5388

 

         Becky Crawford

          Administrative Assistant

          becky.crawford@oberlin.edu

          (440) 775-8055 

          

          

Senior Interns 2018-19:  

           

          Atafah George

          ageorge@oberlin.edu 

 

          Bikalpa Baniya

          bbaniya@oberlin.edu

  

          Kaylee Elliott

           kelliott@oberlin.edu 

 

Bonner Congress Reps 2018-19:  

 

           Charles Kwanin

           ckwanin@oberlin.edu

 

          Maya Marrero English

           mmarrero@oberlin.edu

 

           Shaina Lin Chung

           schung@oberlin.edu  

 

               

 

 

CONNECT WITH US ON SOCIAL MEDIA


https://www.facebook.com/OberlinBCSL/  

 

 

 

 

 

Back to List of Campus Profiles